The Girl Called Rachel



“I have a really lively love affair with the night.”

Should I love jazz like my dad? Do I really feel it enough to be a fan? I think it might be awesome. I love drums. I love the bass. And I love jazz singers.

I skip over what I think are boring songs, but I’m sure that they are tonally, tragically, technically, beautiful pieces of music.

From the mind of a jazz musician: “Ultimately, inspiration just comes from being alive. Having your heart broken, mending your heart, walking away from it. Walking into the unknown and finding what there is around the next corner. ”

Is this the point of that book Karla wanted me to read to her? I remember trying to explain “the unknown” to the three 5 year olds in the class who would not get the concept easily.

Leave a Reply

