The Girl Called Rachel



Rachel Maddow, MLK Day, Inauguration Eve

Barack Obama is painting my favorite color. I wish I had painted my bedroom teal when I was little. Baby Pink? Powder Blue? Who was I kidding? A teal bedroom would have really shaped my attitude as an adolescent. I might have been more aggressive today. A little more openly alternative.

Rad teal and stainless steel kitchen as seen in Domino magazine

Rad teal and stainless steel kitchen as seen in Domino magazine

Imagine watching this outpouring of support and excitement if John McCain had won the election. This must be torturous to the loser.

There are people I know with a Facebook status like:

enjoying the last few days of an era. He’s not president yet.

I could have been feeling really bad today…

The world will stop to watch this.

Where were you when this happened?

I hope Corey Booker does really great things in his career. It’s obvious he has the potential.

Despite Esquire Claim, Newark Free of Zombies" Phew!

This picture was attached to a New York Observer article called "Mayor: Despite Esquire Claim, Newark Free of Zombies" Phew!

“Uh we’ve got good news and bad news. Uh, the good news is that the first African American is being sworn in as President, and that means that the media will talk about race. The bad news is that the first African American is being sworn in as President, and that means the media will talk about race. We really are not that good at this.”

I love Melissa Harris-Lacewell. She looks so beautiful. She must be going to a

    Associate Professor of Politics and African American Studies at Princeton University and frequent Rachel Maddow pundit

Associate Professor of Politics and African American Studies at Princeton University and frequent Rachel Maddow pundit

celebratory dinner or something.

Should I really love Ana Marie Cox?

Imagine being Martin Luther King III? He must get some strange looks any time he has a reservation. Imagine renting a car…

“I’m prayin, every day, for a year now, that it won’t rain tomorrow because I’m not ready to answer these questions yet.” Ahhh hilarious. M H-L talking about questions black women get about their hair.

I can’t believe his prayer was not aired on HBO. How could they do this! I can’t fucking believe it!

Rachel was crying and I didn’t see it? Aw…

African Iraqis. I want to learn more about them.

The street lamp outside my window went out and the lack of light has transformed my neat street into a back alley…

To Do: look up The People’s Inaugural Ball.


Leave a Reply

