The Girl Called Rachel



“You’re a neat girl.”

Isabella Rossellini and Kyle MacLachlan in Blue Velvet

Isabella Rossellini and Kyle MacLachlan in Blue Velvet

As David Lynchified as the rape scene is between Isabella Rosselini and Dennis Hopper, this kind of abuse is a reality for some women and that is terrifying. That man has rage in his eyes that I never want to see or know.

Maybe I’ve never been in a relationship, but I’ve also never begged to be slapped in the face and felt deserving of that punishment. I may occasionally think I’m ugly and fat, but at least I know that I don’t deserve someone else’s anger and a black eye. God forbid anything like this happens to me. This story may be exaggerated, but there is at least a grain of truth.

robin

“I had a dream.

In fact, it was the night I met you.

In the dream, there was our world,

and the world was dark because there weren’t any robins

and the robins represented love.

and for the longest time there was just this darkness.

and all of a sudden

thousands of robins were set free

and they flew down and brought this blinding light of love

and it seemed like that love

would be the only thing that would make any difference

and it did.

So I guess it means…

there is trouble till the robins come.”

(The delineation is obviously my own. I thought it looked more like a dream recitation formatted in the center.)

Laura Dern and David Lynch

Laura Dern and David Lynch

Leave a Reply

